Nigerian Ministers: Their Complex Roles and Responsibilities in Government

A minister has a long list of responsibilities. They oversee an entire government department, propose new laws and policies, answer questions in the National Assembly, deal with the media and public scrutiny. Not to mention managing a huge staff, a large budget, and trying to actually get things done in a country with its fair share of bureaucracy and corruption. The president appoints ministers to head the various ministries and oversee policy areas.

An Overview of Ministerial Duties

In Nigeria, a minister typically leads a ministry and advances the president’s agenda in those ministries. Their duties include:

  • Developing and implementing policies, programs, and projects within the ministry. They stay up to date with issues affecting their area and come up with solutions to address them.
  • Preparing and managing the ministry’s budget. This involves determining funding priorities, allocating resources, and ensuring funds are utilized properly. They balance the needs and demands of different departments and programs.
  • Supervising the permanent secretaries and directors of the ministry. They delegate responsibilities to them but still monitor their performance and the performance of the ministry as a whole.
  • Reporting to and advising the President and cabinet. they keep the President informed about the ministry’s work and provide input on larger government decisions and policies.
  • Representing the ministry both domestically and internationally. They engage with stakeholders, lobby support, and promote the ministry’s agenda at conferences and events.
  • Overseeing the drafting and passage of bills related to their ministry. They work with lawmakers and legal experts to create legislation aligned with the goals of your ministry.

The Appointment Process for Ministers in Nigeria


The first step to becoming a minister is being nominated by the president. The president may select candidates that are members of his political party or others due to expertise or experience relevant to the ministry they may head.


Nominees go through an intensive screening process led by the Department of State Services and the Senate. Background checks, qualification verification, and other reviews aim to ensure only the most qualified and vetted candidates move forward.

Minister of the Federal Capital Territory- Nyesom Wike, taking a bow after being screened by the senate. (Photo credit: TheNigerianlawyer)

Senate Confirmation Hearing

Nominees who pass the screening will go before the Senate for a confirmation hearing. Senators will question the candidates on their experience, priorities, and plans if confirmed as minister. Nominees must demonstrate competence, relevant knowledge, and a vision for progress to gain the Senate’s approval.


Candidates who win the approval of the Senate are sworn in as ministers in an official ceremony. They take an oath of office pledging their allegiance and service to the nation before assuming their ministerial duties.

President Tinubu’s Cabinet

Age Ratio

South West

Minister of Communications, Innovations and Digital Economy —- Bosun Tijani
Minister of State, Environment and Ecological Management – Ishak Salako
Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy – Wale Edun
Minister of Marine and Blue Economy – Bunmi Tunji-Ojo
Minister of Power – Adebayo Adelabu
Minister of State, Health and Social Welfare – Tunji Alausa
Minister of Solid Minerals Development – Dele Alake
Minister of Tourism – Lola Ade-John
Minister of Transportation – Adegboyega Oyetola


Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment – Doris Anite
Minister of Innovation, Science and Technology -Uche Nnaji
Minister of State, Labour and Employment – Nkiruka Onyejeocha
Minister of Women Affairs – Uju Kennedy
Minister of works – David Umahi


Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development – Festus Keyamo
Minister of Youths – Abubakar Momoh
Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation – Betta Edu
Minister of State, Gas Resources – Ekperipe Ekpo
Minister of State, Petroleum Resources – Heineken Lokpobiri
Minister of Sports Development – John Enoh
Minister of Federal Capital Territory – Nyesom Wike

North West

Minister of, Art, Culture and the Creative Economy – Hannatu Musawa
Minister of Defence – Mohammed Badaru
Minister of State, Defence – Bello Matawalle
Minister of State, Education, Yusuf T. Sununu
Minister of Housing and Urban Development, Ahmed M. Dangiwa
Minister of State, Housing and Urban Development, Abdullahi T. Gwarzo
Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Atiku Bagudu
Minister of Environment and Ecological Management- (Kaduna)
Minister of State, Federal Capital Territory – Maria Mahmud
Minister of State, Water Resources and Sanitation, Bello M. Goronto

North East

Minister of Agriculture and Food Security- Abubakar Kyari
Minister of Education- Tahir Maman
Minister of Interior- Sa’idu A. Alkali
Minister of Foreign Affairs- Yusuf M. Tuggar
Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare- Ali Pate
Minister of Police Affairs- Ibrahim Geidam
Minister of State, Steel Development- U. Maigari Ahmadu


Minister of Steel Development – Shuaibu Audu
Minister of Information and National Orientation – Muhammed Idris
Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice – Lateef Fagbemi
Minister of Labour and Employment – Simon Lalong
Minister of State, Police Affairs – Imaan Sulaiman-Ibrahim
Minister of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs – Zephaniah Jisalo
Minister of Water Resources and Sanitation – Joseph Utsev
Minister of State, Agriculture and Food Security – Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi

In words of President Bola Tinubu, Nigerians expect that they will serve with integrity, dignity, and deliver.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *